Picture
As many out there suffer from "Bieber Fever," I even found myself not able to  resist watching the documentary "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never."  Why did I choose to watch this documentary?  My only answer to that question is I found a moment where I saw the picture of him pop up on my Netflix menu, and I said to myself, "lets just check this kids hype out for a second."  About an hour and 15 minutes later, I have to surprisingly say I was very impressed.  Here was a very young kid, without a doubt one heckuvah talent, pursue his dreams and come up big!  His music might be very catchy and irresistable to young teenage heart throbs, however his footsteps on how he became successful should have every teacher in America taking notes.  Justin began singing and playing instruments at an early age.  However, he didn't just wake up as a kid with the ability to sell out Madison Square Garden in 22 minutes and a whole music tour within 2 days.  "Bieber Fever" started with a video tape, him demonstrating his skills, and the videos landing on youtube where he would later be found by a manager.  From there, he was able to meet other talented people that could help him craft his skill to a whole nother level.  As we all know, his success is pretty self explanatory. Am I saying that all our students will become music talents or a celebrity figure as Justin Bieber?  The answer is No!  However, I do believe we need to make changes in our classrooms and not put our students' ideas on a book shelf. Children need to pursue their dreams and explore their ideas.  Through social networking, we can share, expand, or create ideas with others all arcross the world.   In classrooms we always preach to our children to work as a team because you will always get better results.  We need to allow them to do that.  I believe many of us can be fearful of social networking because of the possibilities of networking with someone that could potentially be someone we would not want our children around or negative information on the internet could be potentially seen.  We need to educate our children about potential problems, not just run away from potential issues.  If everyone looked at the cup half empty instead of half full, than most of the things around us would not exist.  Justin Bieber is a perfect example.  You "Never Say Never" because you never know when it is your time to shine.  Never let fear hold you back because you will never know how brilliant you are!! 




Leave a Reply.