Picture
I recently read a great article by Jean Houston discussing issues with Technology and Education.  I thought it was a brilliant piece of work that outlines concerns about technology even though when used properly, its impact on education can be phenomenal.   I like how Jean Houston points out how we need to educate our children on how to control the machines and not allow them to control them.  I believe as teachers, we do need to educate our students on appropriate use of technology.  For example, I persoanlly will never forget when I got my very first smart phone.  I couldn't put my phone down and was probably on it way more then I should have been.  My parents finally had "the talk" with me because they felt it was very inappropriate that during our conversations I was scrolling around on my phone.   I was raised better then that they said.  It's disrespectful to not give appropriate attention to one that is talking to you.  It was simply bad etiquette.  I felt that was a very, very important "teachable moment" for myself because I didn't realize how I was being disrespectful to two people I love dearly.  I share that story often with my students when talking about "technology etiquette"  because without realizing it, we can send the wrong message that we are trying to get across.  I feel it is our responsibilities as teachers to teach our students these valuable lessons.  I love the statement in the article, "Human beings contain far more images, ideas, stories, information, feelings,
and, of course, consciousness than any computer."  I simply agree with this argument.  However, as an educator, we need to realize that all students are all different, contain diverse images, ideas, stories, information, feelings, and of course consciousness then each other.  By properly guiding and educating our student, and allowing them to take ownership in their own learning, achievement can be unlimited.  As I am currently in Mr. Holman's Technology class at the University of Akron, I am impacted by his work.  As he has taught me, we need to educate our students into  "Leaving Positive Digital Footprints worth following."
 





Leave a Reply.